Nobel Prize Kazuo Ishiguro in Literature -2017 | Nobel Prize Winner List 1901-2017| Free download

Nobel Prize in Literature-Kazuo Ishiguro

Awarded to 114 Nobel Laureates since 1901

ஸ்டாக் கோம் : 2017-ம் ஆண்டு இலக்கியத்திற்கான நோபல் பரிசு பிரிட்டனை சேர்ந்த கசுவோ இஷிகுரோவுக்கு வழங்கப்படுகிறது.2017 ஆம் ஆண்டு இலக்கியத்திற்கான நோபல் பரிசு பிரிட்டனை சேர்ந்த கசுவோ  இஷிகுரோவுக்கு  நோபல் பரிசு அறிவிக்கபட்டு உள்ளது. பட்டயத்துடன் பருசு தொகையாக  ரூ.7 கோடியும்  வழங்கப்படும். இவர் ஏராளமான நாவல்கள் மற்றும் சிறு கதைகளை எழுதி புகழ் பெற்றவர் ஆவார். கசுவோ எட்டு புத்தகங்களையும், திரைப்படம் மற்றும் தொலைக்காட்சிக்கான ஸ்கிரிப்ட்டுகளையும் எழுதியுள்ளார். இஷிகுரோவின் சமீபத்திய நாவல்,  "தி புரியட் ஜெயண்ட்"இவர் ஜப்பானை பூர்வீகமாக கொண்டவர் ஆவார்.

Kazuo Ishiguro

"The said interest shall be divided into five equal parts, which shall be apportioned as follows:
one part to the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction ..."

Alfred Nobel had broad cultural interests. During his early youth, he developed his literary interests which lasted throughout his life. His library consisted of a rich and broad selection of literature in different languages. During the last years of his life, he tried his hand as an author and began writing fiction. Literature was the fourth prize area Nobel mentioned in his will.The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded by the Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden.

Did You Know?
110-Nobel Prizes in Literature have been awarded 1901-2017.
14-women have been awarded the Literature Prize so far.
4-Literature Prizes have been divided between two persons.
41-years was the age of the youngest Literature Laureate ever, Rudyard Kipling, best known for The Jungle Book.
88-years was the age of the oldest Literature Laureate ever, Doris Lessing, when she was awarded the Prize in 2007.
65-is the average age of the Nobel Laureates in Literature the year they were awarded the prize.

Nominations for the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature
For the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature, the Swedish Academy has received and approved 240 proposals, resulting in 195 candidates. 
One of these will be awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature.

Process of Nomination and Selection
The Nobel Committee for Literature sends invitation letters to persons who are qualified to nominate for the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Qualified Nominators
The right to submit proposals for the award of a Nobel Prize in Literature shall, by statute, be enjoyed by:

1.Members of the Swedish Academy and of other academies, institutions and societies which are similar to it in construction and purpose;
2.Professors of literature and of linguistics at universities and university colleges;
3.Previous Nobel Laureates in Literature;
4.Presidents of those societies of authors that are representative of the literary production in their respective countries.
Selection of Nobel Laureates
The Swedish Academy is responsible for the selection of the Nobel Laureates in Literature, and has 18 members. The Nobel 
Committee for Literature is the working body that evaluates the nominations and presents its recommendations to the Swedish 
Academy, and comprises four to five members.

Who is eligible for the Nobel Prize in Literature?
The candidates eligible for the Literature Prize are those nominated by qualified persons (see below) who have received an invitation from the Nobel Committee to submit names for consideration. Other persons who are qualified to nominate but have not received invitations may also submit nominations. No one can nominate himself or herself

Below is a brief description of the process involved in choosing the Nobel Laureates in Literature.

September – Invitation letters are sent out. The Nobel Committee sends out nomination forms to 600-700 individuals and organizations  qualified to nominate for the Nobel Prize in Literature.

February – Deadline for submission. The completed forms must reach the Nobel Committee not later than 31 January of the following year. The Committee then screens the nominations and submits a list for approval by the Academy.

April – Preliminary candidates. After further studies, the Committee selects 15–20 names for consideration as preliminary candidates by the Academy.

May – Final candidates. The Committee whittles down the list to five priority candidates to be considered by the Academy.

June-August – Reading of productions. The members of the Academy read and assess the work of the final candidates during the summer. 
The Nobel Committee also prepares individual reports.

September – Academy members confer. Having read the work of the final candidates, members of the Academy discuss the merits of the 
different candidates' contribution.

October – Nobel Laureates are chosen. In early October, the Academy chooses the Nobel Laureate in Literature. A candidate must receive 
more than half of the votes cast. The Nobel Laureates names are then announced.

December – Nobel Laureates receive their prize. The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony takes place on 10 December in Stockholm, where the 
Nobel Laureates receive their Nobel Prize, which consists of a Nobel Medal and Diploma, and a document confirming the prize amount.

Are the nominations made public?
The statutes of the Nobel Foundation restrict disclosure of information about the nominations, whether publicly or privately, for 50 years. 
The restriction concerns the nominees and nominators, as well as investigations and opinions related to the award of a prize.

NOBEL PRIZE WINNERS in Literature  1901-2017